The bitter sweet

I hate venting, really I can’t stand it, but I need to get this off my mind.

When living in a foreign country there are things that start to bother one and some of them you can let go of and others are not so easy. To say I’ve been truly happy here recently would be a lie. There are certain things I’m definitely grateful for but my patience for Thailand has worn thin and it feels like all my positivity is being drained out of me like the moisture from soil in a drought.

I used to love this country and I know there will be things I will miss bitterly but when we made the decision to go home in October, it was based on the unpleasantness of living here and that hasn’t changed. The bad outweighs the good and I think our jobs contribute hugely to this. Schools are run so differently here, parents expect you to be the parent and although I’ve grown to naturally wipe the snot off a kids face, I can’t deal with the politics of two faced people in the environment. I could go on and on about everything that I hate about living here but I won’t.

I believe that if you are unhappy, make a change and I’m counting down the 6 weeks till we fly off to Bali. Our new chapter starts there and then continues in South Africa. I hope it will be a cleansing, a rebirth for a fresh start.

Being abroad has taught me so many lessons, independence and the importance of family. It’s taught me that South Africa, though far from perfect, will always be home with people of good spirits and common ground. Sure there is racism still but I tend to think it’s worse here in Thailand and there is crime but where in the world isn’t there?

So for now, I’m trying to keep my chin up, focus on finishing up my business here and leaving with the love I once felt for this place.

*180/365*

IMG_3454 copy

*181/365*

Celebrating pay day with all you can eat salad bar at Sizzlers :D

Celebrating pay day with all you can eat salad bar at Sizzlers 😀

August I’m focusing on photographing recipes. I will share them here soon. Join my group on Facebook if you are into health and discussing all sorts of food related things and sharing recipes 🙂

xoxo A

Leave a Reply

