Up’s and down’s of life

Life throws us under the bus sometimes and we just have to learn to deal with it, as hard as it may be. May was a month I never want to repeat. We started new jobs and after 2 days were told not to come back because the agency couldn’t get us the correct paperwork to work legally. We walked back home that evening in the rain, me trying to bite back the bags of tears. I haven’t felt so depressed since I was 11!

*141/365*

I love juicing apples but hate eating them...weird right?

I love juicing apples but hate eating them…weird right?

We decided to go to Laos to get tourist visas because I couldn’t keep boarder hopping every 15 days and our money was not going to carry us if we had to keep flying somewhere. So off to Laos we went and my diet crumbled here as it was hard to find raw foods, so I just ate whatever seemed slightly appealing on the menu. I’m always disappointed with food in Laos. The 14 hour bus drive back was uncomfortable and when we got home at 7am we crashed until afternoon before starting our job hunting.

*142/365*

fresh juice, beet apple and cucumber if I remember correctly.

fresh juice, beet apple and cucumber if I remember correctly.

*143/365*

Best raw cacao truffles ever. Hazelnuts, cacao, maca, coconut nectar, salt and coconut oil. Process then roll into balls and refrigerate. Yummo!

Best raw cacao truffles ever. Hazelnuts/walnuts, cacao, maca, coconut nectar, salt and coconut oil. Process then roll into balls and refrigerate. Yummo!

*144/365*

red beans and zucchini fried in coconut oil and eaten with chickpea hummus.

red beans and zucchini fried in coconut oil and eaten with chickpea hummus.

Back to job interviews, I managed to line up 3 interviews in a day. The first one we had to wake up at 5am just to get there on time because it’s far. So we hopped into a taxi feeling sleepy and somewhat wishing the day over already and headed to interview number one. Turns out it was with the school directly and we had to wait 2 hours before being interviewed and then had to give a demo lesson on the spot to kindergarten classes. We then rushed to interview number 2 where they wouldn’t place us in the same school and the salary was below average. There were too many questions left unanswered and at this point I think we had made up our mind that we wanted to work at the first school. We grabbed a bite to eat before heading to interview number 3. It was so unprofessional, we had to give a demo lesson to the guy working there “Pretend I don’t understand any English”, he said. What a tosser I had thought! We were then told they have jobs for both of us an hours drive from Bangkok with housing but we had to say yes immediately. Ummmm how about no! So we left there wishing we hadn’t wasted our time or money even bothering to go there. We called the first school and accepted the positions even though we didn’t know much about it at all. The heavens opened up and we got soaked but welcomes it. Maybe it was a sign for a fresh start.

*145/365*

colourful life. Love these fruits!

colourful life. Love these fruits!

*146/365*

A not so raw meal in Laos and I had no idea it would be egg... eaten with slightly long teeth to say the least.

A not so raw meal in Laos and I had no idea it would be egg… eaten with slightly long teeth to say the least.

Somewhere among all of this depression and financial stress we decided that it’s time for us to go back home. Home as in South Africa where we aren’t outcasts, where people understand you, where family and friends are, blue skies and I think our suppressed ‘missing Cape Town feelings’ finally hit us hard. It’s time. We want to open up our own business next year and I’m super excited about our new adventure.

*147/365*

I actually forgot to photograph food this day, with traveling it just happened =/

*148/365*

raw pecan pie tart... I couldn't wait for it to freeze properly to photograph. I just wanted to eat it. Delish!

raw pecan pie tart… I couldn’t wait for it to freeze properly to photograph. I just wanted to eat it. Delish!

*149/365*

Mangosteens, really loving these super sweet fruits.

Mangosteens, really loving these super sweet fruits.

Then to top off this month, I got dengue fever coming back from Laos and for the first 2 weeks of June I felt like Sh*t to say the least. I felt like I was going to die and I had my first hospital experience in Thailand. But after drinking more liquid then I think I ever have and loads of sleep, 2 missed days of work and 2 weeks in bed I’m finally back to my normal self and have had an appetite for a lot of cooked foods. I know, I know I shouldn’t be eating rice/breads/meats/cheese/curry but that’s what my body has been craving and so I gave into all these and I don’t really feel guilty. I just need to get back into being raw. Also waiting for pay day so I can actually afford to buy raw ingredients.

*150/365*

I got sick on the 31st May and haven’t taken a photo since. I decided my health comes first and I could barely get out of bed so I put the challenge on pause till today.

Our jobs have been going well. We have to wake up at 5am every morning but we only plan on staying until October. Just enough time to save for flights and have a little money to carry us while we start our business. The kids are little and super cute but teaching kindergarten is no joke, it’s really tiring and requires energy that no energy drink can provide.

Anyways, that’s been life and I’m just glad that we have each other to get through the tough times and that no matter what, there is always light at the end of the tunnel.

Hope your May was better than mine and that June is awesome!

xoxoA

Leave a Reply

