March Mayhem

*60/365*

Lomo (Original) copy

This month is crazy. Let me give you a run down on whats happening.

We have quit our job (finishing on Friday) in our small town and are moving to Bangkok. On the 11th, we plan to walk to different schools and hand out our CV’s in hope of gaining employment for May. My parents arrive on the 12th and we will be showing them the cool things around Bangkok. Then we fly to Vietnam for a 2 week jam packed itinerary. In this time I turn 22 and I can’t help but wonder how the heck time went by so fast. Last year I celebrated on an exotic island off Thailand and this year I’m not sure where exactly in Vietnam I’ll be. Life is exciting. I have SO many things so do and food to prepare for the trip. Everything is happening at the same time and I can’t help but want to busy my face in my pillow and sleep.

I wanted this months challenge to be more free and less restrictive so I’ve been taking a photo daily of anything but with my plastic Diana F+ 38mm Lomography lens.  When I first came across lomography while studying, I fell in love with it and eventually purchased the whole kit/lenses etc. Sadly they have been stuck in their boxes back in South Africa but my mom will bring them over for me so I can do more experimenting. I bought the adapter so I can use the lenses on my Canon. I adore film but it’s pricy and I end up never getting the images developed and printed. I hope to experiment more and loosen up, become creative and forget about any photography technical constraints I have. So here are the random images processed with a ‘lomo’ action.

*61/365*

Lomo (Original)2

B doing what he does best.

*62/365*

Lomo (Original) copy

Taken with a Canon 50mm

Taken with a Canon 50mm

Canon 50mm

Canon 50mm

The heavens opened on Sunday. We were on the motorbike and hard, full drops of water splashed against the raincoat. The bike struggled against the whirling wind and I sat thinking how us humans have no control over Mother Nature. Although my skin felt each drop and it splattered across my skin, the hard rain drops were a welcoming relief to the extreme heat of the past 2 weeks. It was an adventure being out there, experiencing the storm, getting soaked and coming home to appreciate a warm shower. Rainy days are my favourite days.

*63/365*

A new hair colour

A new hair colour

*64/365*

Lomo (Original)2

Our lizzie behind the back door. Canon 50mm

Our lizzie behind the back door. Canon 50mm

This evening, work threw us a going away party. It was sweet, awkward at times but it showed us that we meant something to the people or should I say the English Program 😛 B and I even tried Karaoke for the first time and well, we always knew we weren’t meant to sing. It was a good laugh and I can’t say I’m sad to leave but the school was our first employment and everyone has been helpful so it’s been great experience but it’s time to move on now.

Hope your first week of March has been blissful 🙂

xoxoA

 

Leave a Reply

